Lessons learned: Dissertation edition

1. While I love hiding behind email because I honestly hate cold-calling people I’ve never met, email is proving to be a horrible means of getting a hold of people. Also, NO ONE answers those online contact thingys on organization web sites; you know, the “forms” you fill out to have people call you. Phone calls are little miracles as I try to complete my data collection.

2. I really hate trying to set up meetings with people and that my dissertation is going to rely so much on whether or not people will meet with me. Ah, the beauty of solely doing a textual analysis is clear to me now…

3. HOWEVER, some people love to talk about  immigration reform, my dissertation topic. I am one of those people 🙂

Leave a Reply

