The Hart family

Looking at Zuzu just now, I nearly started crying. Vanessa and her family are facing the loss of their little boy- he’s that sick right now. Just having healthy children is such a blessing- even when their diapers explode all over their bassinets and they throw up all over themselves after getting the bath to clean them up. As someone who never thought she’d be able to have children, I have tried to soak up every moment, good or bad. Now, I can never forget.

A passage from Vanessa’s blog:

I feel like there’s not really a lot to say.  I do want to tell you about something God did today.  My sister and I were at the hospital with Brock all morning and we were both having a really hard time today.  I told my sister that the only thing I wanted was to be able talk to my friend Haley, who lost her daughter at 9 months old.  I just wanted to talk to someone who knew exactly how I was feeling at that moment.  BUT I didn’t have Haley’s phone number or any way to get it.  Less than 5 minutes later Haley sent me a text message saying “Just wanted you to know I’m praying for you.  Here’s my number.  Call anytime.”

Lots of people would have a Bible passage to quote to make sense of things, but not me. Sadly, I think of the Rolling Stones: You can’t always get what you want, but you just might find you get what you need.

I pray the Harts get what they need to get through this and it seems little things are happening to that end. V, if you read this and I haven’t completely demeaned your experience by quoting a rock and roll band, please let me know if there is anything I can do. I’m going to get something in the mail to you this weekend…

2 thoughts on “The Hart family

  1. MA,
    I’m so sorry! I just now read this entry. No demeaning – I love me some Rolling Stones too. And I am SO happy and thankful that we’re not at the same place we were when you wrote this.

Leave a comment