Sufferin’ succotash, it’s a Sunday feast

The July issue of Martha Stewart Living knocks it out of the ballpark. She’s always got good stuff in there, but it’s especially good this month. I’ve re-started planning weekly menus and budgeting our weekly groceries, and this issue is particularly helpful. Now that it’s more difficult getting a complicated meal on the table every day with both girls at home (and Zuzu no longer sleeping in her bouncer), I try to make enough of one protein one day that then gets used differently for two to three dinners, leaving only two week nights that I have to cook something else. I also usually make enough so that Eric can take left-overs to work for lunch instead of eating out. It makes it easy most of the week and, again, Martha’s July issue has helped.

The first thing I made was her recipe for green-chile pozole. Green chiles are one of my most favorite foods- Hatch brand green chile enchilada sauce is the closest I can get to Santa Fe. To me, they’re little spicy green slivers of heaven. But, making chile verde, for instance, can be time consuming and tomatillos can be a pain. So I’ve figured out a few shortcuts that I used when I made the pozole. I’d link to the actual recipe, but I couldn’t find it on her Web site. It reheats extremely well- we had it for two dinners that week, one lunch, and I used the leftover pork to make chile verde tacos. I recommend serving it with shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and a squeeze of lime.

Here’s my version of Martha’s pozole:

  • 4 15-oz cans of hominy
  • 5 lbs. of country-style pork ribs, boneless or bone-in is fine (she calls for 3 lbs.; I used 5 to have leftover meat for tacos)
  • a handful of parsley (she calls for flat-leaf; I had curly in the fridge and used that instead)
  • A LOT of sliced fresh garlic
  • 1.5 tsps dried oregano (couldn’t find Mexican oregano, so I used what I already had)
  • 2-3 small cans of Herdez salsa verde (which I keep on hand and used instead of pureeing tomatillos)
  • salt

1. First, wash the pork and place it in a stock pot. Cover with two inches of water, add the parsley and garlic. Bring to a boil. It will get scummy on top; scoop the scum off with a spoon. After it boils, add oregano and lower heat. Partially cover until meat falls apart, about 3 hours. Reserve broth (it’s very tasty at this point); I put it in a pitcher. Shred meat and set aside.

2. Pour cans of salsa verde into a frying pan and cook, adding salt to taste (none has been added so far), until salsa starts to darken. This takes about 10-15 minutes.

3. Open cans of hominy, reserving liquid in cans. Add salsa verde to broth; first, reserve a few cups of broth for tacos later. Bring to a boil, add pork, cook until heated through. Add hominy, and more salt and pepper to taste. Cook until heated through.

Leftover tacos from remainder of pork:

1. Heat oil in a saute pan or stock pot. Add pork, with some salt, pepper, and garlic (I use garlic powder for efficiency’s sake). “Fry” pork to get a little brown on it.

2. Add 1-2 more cans of Herdez salsa verde and maybe one or two cups of the reserved pork broth. Cook for about an hour to thicken and let the flavors meld.

We fried some tortillas for the tacos, and I made some red salsa. It was divine- I think the fresh fried tortillas made it, but I like my tacos crunchy.

Tonight, we made Martha’s homemade corndog and succotash recipes. The write-up on the succotash said that American settlers made the Native American dish with salt pork, so I decided to change the recipe with this in mind. We had fresh green beans in the fridge from my in-laws and corn was ten-cents an ear. It sounded good, so here’s how I made it:

  • 7 ears of corn, kernels cut from the cob
  • 1-2 lbs. fresh green beans, snapped and in half-inch pieces, preferably from your father-in-law’s garden 🙂
  • one bunch of chopped green onions (about one cup)
  • half tsp. of celery seed
  • three-quarters tsp. paprika
  • salt and pepper

Cook the green beans for 4-5 minutes in salted boiling water. Fish the beans out with a slotted or mesh spoon onto a pan or plate to cool. You can use three to four tablespoons of butter, but I used two big spoonfuls of bacon grease (instead of the salt pork), melting it in a large frying pan. Cook the green onions with the celery seed until soft. Add the corn and salt and cook until heated through. Stir in beans and paprika, heating through.

It was delicious and I had to share. Corndogs and succotash might not be the conventional Sunday meal, but we’re rubbing our tummies around here. There’s a bag of succotash to re-heat with dinner later in the week and one freezing, along with two meals and a lunch of corndogs (not health, I know, but who cares…) freezing.

7 thoughts on “Sufferin’ succotash, it’s a Sunday feast

  1. At least you are having a good time cooking and making fresh meals for the family instead of boxed. That makes a huge difference and is something we need to get accustomed to doing again. There is always reward when we do. I made fresh scones tonight with fresh blueberries from a friend’s patch. I would venture to say that your homemade corndogs and succotash was a lot healthier than what a lot of people ate for dinner on Sunday. Keep on sharing the good recipes!

    • Thanks, Judy. I decided that I’ll probably start writing more about what we’re cooking because we do it and love it so much. Every now and then, Eric and I have the shopping spree where we’re embarrassed checking out because we have a cart full of pre-fab, processed foods. They are easier to make…but we never finish them off. It’s usually what we have left in our freezer. We’re pretty good about making things fresh rather than out of a box. I certainly understand how things like Hamburger Helper came to be and can be time-saving, but while I can, I like to make things from scratch. My mom always did working full time. She set a great example- and man, can she cook!

  2. I’ll be sure to tell Fred in the morning. I should be in bed, also. He may not get many more beans. He got a meal or two pickin’ today. I want to try something different with this bunch. That succotash sounds good.

  3. That all sounds delicious! I love Martha. She’s definitely got the Midas touch. I’ve been on a cooking kick this week as well — using a lot of herbs de Provence that I received as a wedding gift (highly recommended!).
    I think it’s so great your girls are growing up eating healthy, home-cooked meals. It seems so rare these days. Surely, they will grow up to appreciate fresh, good food.
    P.S. I could live on Herdez’s salsa verde. Heaven.

    • if you come across the Hatch products ever (if you haven’t already), try them out. I like to brown chicken breasts, seasoned with garlic, salt, pepper, and guajillo chili powder, and then finish them in the green chile enchilada sauce with rice on the side. I could bathe in that stuff. It’s AMAZING. I seriously need bread or something to sop up every last bit. But thank goodness for Herdez…

Leave a Reply

