“What’s going on over there???”

Eric walked into the living room a few minutes ago to quite a scene: Katie, lounging on the couch, watching Sleeping Beauty, with her bare hiny sticking up in the air.

“What’s going on over there?” He asked, laughing. She’s had this itchy red spot on her hiny the past few weeks. When I noticed she was scratching it earlier, I put some Benadryl on it. It was still wet, so I told her to let the lotion dry and keep her pants down. That’s when Eric walked into the room to see Katie, sunning her bare bottom.

A few minutes later, Eric asked Katie if she were ready to pull her pants up.

“No!” She replied. “It’s not dry yet!”

I told him to remember these moments, because they’re the good ones.

Speaking of the good ones, the most toxic individual in my life resurfaced recently- it seems my efforts to expel him and sever ties permanently wear off in 12 to 18 months. After he blew up and confirmed every misgiving and bad feeling I had about letting him into my life, one epithet hurled (besides calling me an “insensitive, selfish bitch” with no mind of her own…yeah, choke on that one) was that my twitter page was hateful.

And so, I looked back over my twitter page. I looked back over every single tweet I have made in the brief history of my account. Because, you know, maybe it was hateful…or something. There are some ramblings about how bored I am and a smattering of a few political retweets, but mostly, my chirps about the very best of my girls. In other words, I try to condense into 140 characters the sweetest, funniest, most entertaining tidbits about my girls. My twitter page is filled with the very best of my kids (without pictures). And if that’s hateful, it’s just more proof that you’re as messed up as I thought, grasping at straws, and further validation that I don’t need your bullshit around.

With that, Happy New Year’s, folks. Let’s make it a good one.

Leave a Reply

